Question updates

Here you can find comments and corrections of the game questions. Answers that used to be correct have been made incorrect by rule changes. You will find these corrections in this list.

Dispite a rigorous and multi-faceted quality control phase a few mistakes have made their way into the question cards. Thank you to the officials who have helped improve the game by pointing this out.

QUESTION 1

QUESTION

4/7 on the B-49.

The punter muffs the long-snap, recovers the ball and startsrunning to avoid the pressure.  When he gets to the B-45, he punts the ball to the returner, who fair catches the kick at the B-8.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal kick.
4/12 on the A-46.
Rule 6-3-10-c.

This answer is incorrect.  The penalty for Illegal Kick includes Loss of Down, so the correct answer is:

B's ball, 1/10 on the A-46.

Thank you to Tommy Thordarson from Norway.

QUESTION 4

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
4/17 on the B-23.
A is down by 5 points and ½7 seconds remain in the game. The QB takes the shot gun snap and stands in the pocket looking for an open receiver. He finds A87 in the endzone, who goes airborne, catches the pass and lands inbounds. A87 stepped on the endline before he jumped to catch the pass.
What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal touching.
B’s ball. 1/10 on the B-23.

A rule change makes this an incomplete pass with no foul.
B’s ball. 1/10 on the B-23.

QUESTION 16

QUESTION
Live ball fouls do not usually kill the play.

In most situations the offended team gets to close between the result of the play or the foul. However, in two situations, the foul kills the play.

Name the 2 live ball fouls that kill the play.

ANSWER
- Illegal kick
- Return kick.

This is a little technical, but the first option should be a scrimmage kick made beyond the line of scrimmage.
Both this and a return kick are illegal kicks.

Thanks to Maarten de Boer from Holland.

QUESTION 18

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
4/11 on the A-1.
The punter has to jump to catch the long snap and as he takes off, his heel touches the endline. He catches the ball, lands inbounds and kicks the ball. B catches the kick at the A-44 and runs to the A-20, where he is tackled.
What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Stepping out of bounds.
4/11½ on the A-½ or B 1/10 on the A-15.

A rule change makes the punter out of bounds while airborne, so this is a safety.

QUESTION 22

QUESTION
Name the 5 situations where blocking below the waist is not legal.

 

ANSWER
- Towards the original position of the ball
- Against an eligible A receiver beyond the LOS
- During a free kick or a scrimmage kick from a scrimmage kick formation
- After a change of possession
- Against a player in position to receive a backward pass

The rule regarding blocking below the waist has been completely rewritten in 2011. BBW is now illegal except in a few situations, so this question is now obsolete.

QUESTION 24

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
Name the 5 fouls that demand a legal forward pass.

ANSWER

  • - Pass interference

  • - Illegal touching

  • - Ineligible receiver downfield

  • - Roughing the passer

  • - Automatic first down for fouls against eligible receivers

A rule change has made “roughing the passer” possible even if the pass is not legal.
QUESTION 30

QUESTION
4/8 on the B-10.

A is behind by 2 points, 47 seconds remain in the game and the clock is running.  A lines up in a scrimmage kick formation, but does not snap the ball before the play clock runs out.  24 seconds remain.

What is your ruling?

Please include status of the game clock.

ANSWER
Delay of game.
4/13 on the B-15.  Clock starts on the snap.

With the new (2011) 10 second runoff rule, the status of the clock will depend on B's choice and wether A has any timeouts left.

 

QUESTION 36

Updated
November 2013

QUESTION
After a fair catch signal, the ball dies when caught or recovered.

Describe the one situation where the ball dies at the spot of the signal.

ANSWER
When the signal comes after the catch or recovery.

Rule 2-7-1-c.

For clarification, the signal must be made by the player in possession. 

Thank you to Krzysztof Walentynowicz from Poland.

QUESTION 39

QUESTION
10 seconds remain in the half. A has just completed a long pass to the B-7 and is hustling up to spike the ball. All 11 A-players are set as B97 jumps forward and he is over the ball when tackle A77 directly in front of him flinches. The ball had not yet been declared ready for play.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Delay of game.
1/Goal on the B-12.
Rule 2-18-2.

The answer is incorrect.  There is no foul here, since you cannot commit DOF or FST before the ball is declared ready. Had the ball been snapped before the ready for play, it would have been a Delay of Game, resulting in 1/10 on the B-12. Obviously, this would be very difficult to have happen with a 40 second play clock.

Thank you to Krzysztof Walentynowicz from Poland and Steve Tonkinson from England.

QUESTION 55

Updated
November 2013

QUESTION
What do the fouls in rule 9-1-2 have in common?

 

ANSWER
The fouls in rule 9-1-2 are all personal fouls.

After restructuring of the rulebook, the personal fouls are now in 9-1.

Thank you to Krzysztof Walentynowicz from Poland.

QUESTION 60

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
List the 6 conditions needed for post scrimmage kick enforcement to apply.

ANSWER
- Punt or no-good field goal
- Kick beyond the neutral zone
- Foul by B
- Foul 3 or more yards beyond the neutral zone
- Foul before end of kick
- A not in legal possession when the ball dies.

A rule changes has caused to alterations:
- Foul 3 or more yards beyond the neutral zone is deleted.
- Foul during the kick instead of before end of kick

QUESTION 94

QUESTION
4/22 on the B-23.

5 seconds remain in the game and team A is behind by 2 points. A lines up i a field goal formation and gets ready to kick the potential game winner. Before the ball is snapped, B55 positions himself on the shoulders of teammate B75 to block the field goal attempt. The holder gets confused by this so he muffs the snap and the ball is recovered by B21 on the B-30.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Unsportmanlike conduct.
The play doesn't count. This is a dead ball foul.  4/7 on the B-8.
Rule 9-3-5-a.

The answer is incorrect. The enforcement should be half distance to the goalline.

Thank you to Krzysztof Walentynowicz from Poland and Steve Tonkinson from England.

QUESTION 97 QUESTION
4/2 on the B-49.
The punter kicks the ball high and deep.

The ball is muffed by the punt returner on the B-6 and the ball rolls to the B-10 where A87 bats the ball into B'2 endzone. Players from "both teams" muff the ball in the endzone and finally B19 recovers the ball in the endzone where he is tackled by A48.

The words "both teams" should be inserted between the words "from" and "muff".

 

 

QUESTION 98

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
2/Goal on the B-7.
25 seconds remain the 2nd quarter and A is out of timeouts. Right as the ball is snapped, the Umpire notices that the QB is not wearing a mouth piece. He has been warned repeatedly throughout the 2nd quarter, so the Umpire throws his flag.
The QB runs the option to the B-5 where he is tackled inbounds.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal batting.
1/10 on the A-37.
Rule 8-7-2.

The penalty for illegal batting has changed from 15 to 10 yards.
1/10 on the A-32.

QUESTION 99

QUESTION
1/10 on the A-22.

the QB takes the snap and pitches the ball towards the running back on a sweep to the left.  The RB muffs the ball on the A-15.  The ball rolls to the A-17 where it hits a patch of mud and comes to rest.  A LB then muffs the ball in an attempt to recover it and the ball rolls into the endzone, where another LB recovers it.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Touchback.

1/10 on the A-20.
Rule 8-7-2.

This answer is incorrect.  The correct answer is Touchdown for B.

 

Thank you to Krzysztof Walentynowicz from Poland and Steve Tonkinson from England.

QUESTION 101

Updated December 2014

QUESTIONS
First possession series in extra periods. 3/3 on the B-10. The holder muffs the snap and the ball rolls to the B-12 where the kicker kicks the ball into the B endzone. Here A89 recovers the ball.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER

Illegal kicking.
4/20 from the B-27.

Due to a rule change the correct answer is
4/15 from the B-22.


QUESTION 135

QUESTION
PAT on the B-3.

The QB takes the snap and rolls out to his right, looking for an open receiver in the endzone.  His pass to the tight end is intercepted in the endzone and returned 105 yards to the A endzone.  During the play, but after the interception, the offensive tackle held a defensive lineman on the B-4 yardline.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Offensive holding.
Declined.
No score.
Rule 8-3-4.  

This answer is partly incorrect.  It is - by definition - defensive holding and it is declined, but since B did not foul, they keep their two points.

 

QUESTION 136

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
PAT on the B-3.
The QB takes the snap and rolls out to his right, looking for an open receiver in the endzone.
His pass to the tight end is intercepted in the endzone and returned 105 yards to the A endzone. During the play, but after the interception, the offensive tackle blocked a defe3nsive lineman in the back on the B-4 yardline.
What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal block in the back.
Declined.
No score.
Rule 8-3-4.

Since B didn’t foul, the score counts.

QUESTION 148

QUESTION
Second possession series in extra periods.  3/2 on the B-17.

The QB is under heavy pressure in the pocket, but manages to get a pass off to the tight end, which is intercepted by the strong safety on the B-5.  the safety returns the ball all the way to the A-3, where he is finally tackled.  An offensive guar held a linebacker on the B-20 after the interception.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Defensive holding.
Declined. The possession series is over.
Rule 3-1-3.

 Naturally, this is an offensive holding, but it is still declined and the series is over.

 

Thanks to Bo Thygesen, Denmark for pointing this out.

QUESTION 149

QUESTION
Second posseion series in extra periods.

2/12 on the B-27.

An eligible receiver is running a pattern across the field as he is held by the middle linebacker on the B-20 yardline.  Subsequently, the QB attempts a pass into the endzone, which falls incomplete.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Defensive holding.
Declined. The posseion series is over.
Rule 3-1-3.

This is defensive holding, but it is not declined.  It will be accepted and A will get 1/10 on the B-17.

 

QUESTION 157

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
Second possession series in extra periods.
2/12 on the B-27.
An eligible receiver is running a pattern across the field as he is blocked in the back by the middle linebacker on the B-20 yardline. Subsequently, the QB attempts a pass into the endzone, which falls incomplete.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER

Illegal block in the back.

2/2 on the B-17.

Actually, since the foul occurs beyond the LOS and the pass crosses the LOS, this foul includes an automatic first down.

1/10 on the B-17.

QUESTION 166

Updated December 2014
The rule reference is now 9-1-10.
QUESTION 168

QUESTION
4/1 on the B-42.
A running back runs a sweep to the right.

The right guard blocks the nose tackle high at the same time as the right offensive tackle blocks him low.  This happens on the B-43 yardline.  The running back is tackled on the B-37 yardline.

What is your ruling?

Please include status of the game clock.

ANSWER
Chop block.
4/16 on the A-43.

The game clock will start on the ready for play.

Rules 2-3-3 and 9-1-2-m.

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 2-3-3 and 9-1-10.

 

QUESTION 177

Latest update December 2014

QUESTION
4/3 on the B-21.

It's late in the 3rd quarter and A is ahead by 2 points.  A, lined up in a scrimmage kick formation, lets the play clock expire.

The game clock was running.

What is your ruling?

Please include the status of the game clock.

ANSWER
4/8 on the B-26.
The game clock will start on the ready.
Rule 3-4-3.

Actually, pursuant to 3-3-2-d-11, the game clock will start on the snap and not the ready.

 

QUESTION 178 QUESTION
1/10 on the B-37.

The score is 20-21, 4 seconds remain in the game and neither team has any timeouts left.  The QB drops back in the pocket.  As he is looking for an open receiver he is sacked at the B-45 by a blitzing linebacker by the facemask.  The center and the split end both wore moisture absorbing towels.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
A 1/10 on the B-27.
Facemask by B and illegal equipment by A.
Rule 1-4-5.

The towel rule has been changed to make it legal for two linemen to wear them at the same time (2011). 

1/10 on the B-22.  Untimed down.

Rule 1-4-6.

QUESTION 183

QUESTION
4/7 on the B-45.

On the first play of the 4th quarter, the QB completes a legal forward pass to a wide receiver at the B-35l where he is hit and fumbles the ball.  A scramble ensues and players from both teams muff the ball which goes out of bounds at the B-40.  The QB was roughed after he released the pass.

What is your ruling?

Answe r
A 1/10 on the B-20.
Roughing the passer.
Rule 9-1-2-l.

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9

 

QUESTION 184

QUESTION
1/10 on the A-20.

The QB completes a pass to a receiver at the A-32.  The receiver advances to the A-40 where he fumbles the ball, which is recovered on the A-45 by the grounded tight end.

The referee calls a defensive end for RTP on the play.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
A 1/10 on the B-40.
Roughing the passer.
Rule 9-1-2-l.

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9.

 

QUESTION 185

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
1/10 on the A-20.
The QB completes a pass to an open receiver at the A-32. The receiver advances to the A-40 where he fumbles the ball, which rolls out of bounds on the A-45. The referee calls a defensive end for RTP on the play. 30 seconds remain in a tied game.

What is your ruling?
Please include status of the game clock.

ANSWER
A 1/10 on the B-45.
Roughing the passer.
Rule 9-1-2-l.
The game clock will start on the ready for play.

Due to a restructuring of the rulebook, there reference is now 9-1-9.

QUESTION 186

QUESTION
1/10 on the A-20.

The QB completes a pass to an open receiver at the A-32.  The receiver advances to the A-40 where he fumbles the ball, which rolls out of bounds on the A-35.  The referee calls a defensive end for RTP on the play.  30 seconds remain in a tied game.

What is your ruling?

Please include status of the game clock.

ANSWER
A 1/10 on the B-45.
Roughing the passer.
Rule 9-1-2-l.

The game clock will start on the snap.

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9. 

 

QUESTION 291

This signal is no longer used.

 
QUESTION 317

Blocking below the waist has undergone a major change, so this question is no longer applicable.

 
QUESTION 319

Updated
May 2013

QUESTION
Name 3 of the fouls that demand a legal forward pass.

 

ANSWER
- Pass interference
- Illegal touching
- Ineligible receiver downfield
- Roughing the passer
- Automatic first down for fouls against eligible receivers

Roughing the passer no longer needs a legal forward pass, just a forward pass.
Rule 9-1-9 and 2-27-5.

QUESTION 323

Updated
November 2013

QUESTION
List 4 of the 6 conditions needed for post scrimmage kick enforcements to apply. 

 

ANSWER
- Punt or no-good field goal
- Kick beyond the neutral zone
- Foul by B
- Foul 3 or more yeards beyond the neutral zone
- Foul before end of kick
- A not in legal possession when the ball dies.

Due to a rule change, number 4 is deleted and number 5 is changed to "Foul during the kick".

To answer the question correctly, the official must bame 3 of the 5 conditions.

QUESTION 343 Updated
November 2013

QUESTION 
2/17 on the B-23. 17 seconds remain in the 2nd quarter.The score is tied 17-17.

The QB drops back in the pocket looking for an open receiver.  Unable to find one and realizing that time is running out, he spikes the ball.  The QB was on the B-30 but not under duress. 
7 seconds remain in the half.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal forward pass.
3/29 on the B-35.
Rule 7-3-2

This question falls under the new rule (2011) regarding the 10 second runoff.  B will want to accept the runoff and A will block it with a timeout if they have any left, to get a chance to run another play.  

With a 2013 rule change, there is no longer a 5 yard penalty for grounding the ball to stop the clock. Only loss of down. 

QUESTION 344

Updated December 2014

QUESTION

1/Goal on the B-7. The offense is rushing up to the line of scrimmage to spike the ball as time is running out in the 2nd quarter.  The QB muffs the snap, recovers the ball off the ground on the B-9 and immediately spikes the ball.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal forward pass.
2/G on the B-14.
Rule 7-3-2.

This question was written before the 10 second run-off rule, which would also be relevant here.

QUESTION 352

QUESTION
2/9 on the B-33.
The QB is running an option play to his left.

He pitches the ball back to a running back, who bats the ball forward from the B-37 to the B-29 where the ball is recovered by the split end, who is tackled on the B-25.

What is your ruling?  

ANSWER 
Illegal batting.
3/1 on the B-25 or 2/28 on the A-48.
Rule 9-4.  

The penalty for Illegal Batting has been changed from 15 to 10 yard. So the correct answer is now 3/1 on the B-25 or 2/23 on the B-47.

QUESTION 358 Updated
November 2013

QUESTION 
4/5 on the B-15.  
The kicker attempts a field goal from the B-22 but it is a low kick and B7 bats the ball forward from the B-11 to the B-30 where he picks up the ball and runs it to the A endzone.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal batting.
B's ball, 1/10 on the B-15.
Rules 9-4 and 10-2-3.

A rule change changed the penalty from 15-10 yards.
B's ball, 1/10 on the B-20.

QUESTION 359 Updated
November 2013

QUESTION 
4/19 on the B-41.  
The punt lands on the B-7, and hits the punt returner on the foot and rolls towards the B endzone. The head hunter didn't see the touching and he leaps into the endzone and bats the airborne ball back into the field of play before the ball touches the ground in the endzone. The ball is subsequently recovered by the punt returner on the B-3.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal batting.
4/34 on th A44 or B's ball, 1/10 on the B-18.
Rules 6-3-11 and 9-4.

A rule change changed the penalty from 15 to 10 yards.
4/29 on the A-49 or B's ball, 1/10 on the B-13.

QUESTION 363

Updated
November 2013

QUESTION
2/4 on the A-49.

A running back runs the ball to the B-30 where he fumbles the ball and a mad scramble ensues.  To keep an opponent from recovering the ball the full back bats the ball from the B-29 to the B-25 where the center falls on the ball.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal batting.
1/10 on the B-45.
Rule 9-4.

A rule change changed the penalty from 15 to 10 yards.
1/10 on the B-40.

 

QUESTION 366

QUESTION
2/4 on the A-49.

A running back runs the ball to the B-30 where he fumbles the ball and a mad scramble ensues.  To keep and opponent from recovering the ball the full back bats the ball from the B-29 to the B-25 wher ethe middle linebacker falls on the ball.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
No foul.
B's ball on the B-25.
Rule 9-4.

There is actually a foul for illegal batting by the full back, but this foul is declined by B,  so that they can keep the ball.

 

QUESTION 367

QUESTION
3/16 on the A-34.

The QB throws a pass to the split end who runs to the 50 before he is tackled.

The QB is roughed after the pass.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Roughing the passer.
1/10 on the B-35.
Rule 9-1-2-l.  

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9. 

Thanks to Gerhard Mayrhofer , Austria.  

QUESTION 368

QUESTION
3/16 on the A-34.

The QB rolls out to his left looking for an open receiver.  As he gets to the A-36 he throws a pass to the tight end, who catches the ball on the A-40, where he is tackled. 

After the pass, the QB is contacted by a defensive end.  The contact is severe enough for roughing the passer, but not severe enough for a personal foul.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal forward pass.
4/19 on the A-31.
Rules 9-1-2-I and 7-3-2.

A rule change has made the correct answer Offsetting fouls.  Illegal forward pass and intentional grounding.

Rule 2-27-5 now states that a passer is anyone who throws a forward pass.  The pass no longer has to be legal.

QUESTION 369    

ANSWER
Roughing the passer.
1/10 on the A-34.
Rule 9-1-2-l.  

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9. 

Thanks to Gerhard Mayrhofer , Austria.  

Qestion 373

QUESTION
3/18 on the B-40.

The QB throws a pas to a receiver who catches the ball at the B-30 and runs to the B-10 where he fumbles the ball as he is being tackled.  The ball rolls out of bounds on the B-15.  The QB was roughed on the play.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Roughing the passer.
1/Goal on the B-5.
Rule 9-1-2-l

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9. 

 

QUESTION 374

QUESTION
3/18 on the B-40.

The QB throws a pass to a receiver who catches the ball at the B-30 and runs to the B-10 where he fumbles the ball as he is being tackled.  The ball rolls to the B-16 where it is recovered by another receiver.  The QB was roughed on the play.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Roughing te passer.
1/Goal on the B-8.
Rule 9-1-2-l

With the restructuring of the rulebook (2011), the rule reference should be 9-1-9. 

 

QUESTION 388

Updated December 2014

QUESTION
Free kick from the A-30.
2 minutes remain in the fourth quarter and A is behind by 5 points.
The onside kick is in the A-41 yardline when A23 blocks B12 in the back on the A-39 yardline in an attempt to recover the kick. B76 subsequently recovers the kick on the A-42. A22 touched the ball on the A-41.

ANSWER
Illegal block in the back.
B’s ball, 1/10 on the A-32.
Rules 6-1-2 and 6-1-3.

In fact, there is no foul here.
B’s ball, 1/10 on the A-42.
9-3-3-c-3

QUESTION 389

QUESTION
Free kick form the A-30.

2 minutes remain in the fourth quarter and A is behind by 5 points.
The onside kick is on the A-41 yardline when A23 blocks B12 in the back on the A-41 yardline in an attempt to recover the kick.
B76 subsequently recovers the kick on the A-42. A22 touched the ball on the A-41.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal block in the back.
B's ball, 1/10, on the A-32.
Rules 6-1-2 and 6-1-3.

This answer is incorrect.  The block is legal since A23 is eligible to recover the ball.
B's ball, 1/10 on the A-42.
The block in the back is legal in this case.
Rule 9-3-3-c-3.

QUESTION 391

QUESTION
4/3 on the A-45.
The punt returner makes a fair catch signal on the B-15. The ball hits the ground on the B-18 and takes a bounce towards the B endzone. A89 is about to down the ball on the B-4 when the punt returner blocks him from the front and above the waist. The ball consequently rolls into the endzone.

What is your ruling?

ANSWER
Illegal block.
B's ball, 1/10 on the B-10.
Rule 6-5-4.
QUESTION 401

Updated December 2014 

QUESTION
3/2 on the B-45.
While the QB is in the pocket, looking for a receiver, the nose tackle grabs and twists the facemask of the center. He lets go before the QB completes a pass to a slot back who catches the ball on the B-35 and advances to the B-25 where he is pushed out of bounds.


What is your ruling?

ANSWER
1/10 on the B-25.
The foul is declined as it would have been enforced from the previous spot.

Due to a rule change, any PF by B during the pass can now be enforced from the end of the run just like RTP.


QUESTION
Fan 24

Updated
December 2014

QUESTION
Name as many titles of officials as you can. You get one point for each title you can mention on top of the point piece.

ANSWER

Referee
Umpire
Linesman
Line Judge
Field Judge
Side Judge
Back Judge

8 man mechanics have introduced the Center Judge.

QUESTION
Fan 28

Updated
November 2013

QUESTION
Which yard line is the ball placed on after a touchback?

a. 15 yard line
b. 20 yard line
c. 25 yard line
d. 30 yard line

ANSWER
b. 20 yard line

A rule change has made both b. and c. correct. Both answers will be accepted and dobble points will be awarded to a fan who answers both. 

 

Join our facebook group

Take part of the debate about rules and get update information.